What to do…when you don’t know what to do

Standard

  It’s inevitable. If you are living and breathing, you will eventually find yourself in situations where you simply do not know what to do, where to go, what to say, or how to respond. And most of the time, the context for our uncertainty is extreme difficulty and testing.

We’ve all been there. We will be there again. Some of us are there now. Life demands answers. And during times of uncertainty, all we feel like we can provide are more questions.

I have found myself in such circumstances. And while searching desperately for much needed direction in God’s word, He led me to a place that provided me with some much needed answers for what to do when you simply don’t know what to do. While my circumstances have not changed, my perspective has. And it’s made a huge difference.

It’s not a formula and it’s not rocket science. But in Psalm 37, God gives us action steps and promises as reminders that we can hang our hat on when we don’t know what to do. I shared this with our campus staff this week and I pray it will be encouragement for you. I will simply allow God’s word to speak for itself.

When you don’t know what to do:

Trust in the Lord and do good. (verse 3)

Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires. (verse 4)

Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you. (verse 5)

Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act. (Verse 7…I like this one the least!)

Following these action steps, God provides these promises:

The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. (verse 23)

Though (the righteous) stumble, they will never fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand. (verse 24)

The Lord rescues the godly; he is their fortress in times of trouble. (verse 39)

The Lord helps them, rescuing them from the wicked. He saves them, and they find shelter in him. (verse 40)

I have no idea where you are in your journey with Jesus, and if you were honest, you may not know for yourself right now. But I can assure you of this: He knows where you are and what you are feeling, and He has a plan for you that is greater than what you can dream up on your own.

I’m in this journey with you. With that said, would you join me in trusting, committing, delighting, and waiting for His plan to be revealed? I pray that these verses will encourage and strengthen you for the days ahead.

2 thoughts on “What to do…when you don’t know what to do

  1. Shelli White

    Well written, and thank you …. Thank you for being an awesome, inspirational, spiritual leader. I am honored to have people like you and Ms. Shannon in my life!

Leave a Reply

